The Finish of the 66th Tour de Pologne, the biggest cycling stage race in Poland, will take place in Krakow for a second time in a row. Competitors, after a week of cycling, having more than 1000 km in their legs, are coming to the town in the Saturday afternoon, 8th of August. Wait for them at Market Swquare around 5.30 p. m.

Tour de Pologne – road cycling stage race is the most prestigious annual sporting event in Poland with long 80-years old tradition. First edition of the race was held in September 1928 under the name of Bieg Dookola Polski with the field of 71 riders taking part in the competition on 1491 kms long route. First organizers of the race were Warsaw’s Society of Cyclists called Warszawskie Towarzystwo Cyklistow and sporting daily newspaper “Przegląd Sportowy”. Before the outbreak of Second World War race was held five times – apart from 1928 also in 1929, 1933, 1927 & 1939. Event was brought back to life in 1947 and since then until 1992 was held as stage race for amateur riders.

New era for the race came in 1993 season when former Olympic silver medalist from Moscow Road Race – Czeslaw Lang took the charge in organizing the event. At the start he invested his own money – hard earned during professional career in Italian teams between 1982 to 1989 season – to save the race that was close to collapse in new economical realities. Soon after race gained new dimension and international recognition. In years that followed not only best Polish riders but also many stars from abroad took part in the race just to name likes of: Maurizio Fondriest (winner in 1994), Pavel Tonkov, Peter Lutenberger, Adriano Baffi, Andy Hampsten, Marco Pantani, Evgeni Berzin, Dmitri Konychev, Markus Zberg, Jens Voigt, Erik Zabel, Peter Van Petegem, Tom Steels, Jaan Kirsipuu, Vjatcheslav Ekimov, Alexandre Vinokourov, Chris Boardman, Stuart O’Grady or Danilo Di Luca.

More at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>